top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Black Circle

2018, the year of self-love


What if you simply devoted this year to loving yourself?

I've come to the realization that I don't want to waste another minute of my life not loving myself. I've spent too many years not showing myself the love I deserve. This will be the year of self-love! Loving yourself is the greatest revolution because it is one of the hardest things to do. I’ll be the first to admit that loving myself has been the biggest challenge of my life and it is something that I am constantly working on.

What a better time to talk about self-love then during the month of love. So, I thought I would share some tips that have helped me on my self-love journey.

  1. Daily Positive Affirmations

How many times a day do you talk bad about yourself? I know this is pretty much a regular routine for me starting the moment I get out of bed. You know the scene in the movie Princess Diaries when she looks in the mirror and says, “this is as good as it’s going to get” well that’s pretty much me every morning. We are our own worse critics. We would never allow anyone else to speak to us this way, so why do we allow ourselves? Practicing positive affirmations may sound silly, but it works! Every morning instead of avoiding the mirror, I spend a couple of minutes looking at myself and saying out loud what I love about myself. And let me tell you it is the most empowering feelings. Everyday I remind myself: I am beautiful, I am enough. Give it a try and I promise you will feel the love you've been missing!

2. Self-Love Books

I’ve found that reading books about self-love and self-empowerment have helped me tremendously. I’ve always had really low self-esteem and many insecurities which has stopped me form loving myself all these years. I never really learned how to love myself, but finding books on the subject of self-love has changed everything for me. I came across this amazing writer Shani Jay on Instagram and fell in love with her books. I'm lucky to call her a good friend now and I owe everything to her for helping me learn how to love myself. Check out her books on Amazon, you won't be disappointed!

3. BeeYourself

In the world we live in, we spend so much time worried about what other people think of us. But, what do we think about ourselves? We put on a show for the world portraying a "perfect life." But, do we really know who we are? It's easy to get lost in the persona we put on for other people. I challenge you to bee the real you, to embrace the real you, and to love the real you. The moment you accept yourself for who you really are, the easier it is to love yourself. You can't love yourself if you are always pretending to be someone or something you're not. Trust me I've been there, it gets old!

Self-love is a life long journey. Just like any relationship there will be ups and downs, but don't give up. Remember, the relationship you have with yourself is the most important relationship of your life.

"But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well that’s just fabulous." -Carrie Bradshaw

love, Jess

bottom of page