top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Black Circle

Goodbye 2017


As 2017 comes to an end, I’ve realized how much this year has kicked my butt! It has been one of the hardest years for me. Mentally, physically, spiritually I have been tested to no end. So I ask, is the comeback really stronger than the setback?

I recently took some time to reflect on the major setbacks I've experienced this year. And wow did I have a lot going on! My grandfather became very sick and was in and out of the hospital. I was battling the worst of my anxiety and depression without medication. I was not accepted into graduate school. And the cherry on top, being told I can't run anymore until my injury is healed. What a shit show 2017 turned out to be! But, what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, right? Things never go as you planned and you have to learn to pick yourself up and keep going.

Setbacks are a part of life, but how we handle our setbacks will determine our outcome. And to be honest I haven't been handling my setbacks very well; I've let them take a toll on me. I'd be lying if I said I didn't spend most of my days crying and having break downs. Mentally and physically, I am exhausted from fighting so hard. But, I've come to realize that setbacks are only temporary. Every setback is an opportunity to grow, to evolve, and come back stronger.

I will remember 2017 as the year that defeated me in every way possible. But, 2018 is a brand new year with new opportunities. Isn’t that the beauty of it all? We can just leave everything behind and start over. Every year that goes by teaches us a lesson, good or bad. The most important lesson I've learned this year is to trust the timing of your life. You will experience setbacks, you will fail, but you will also experience success and happiness. Everything you are fighting for and working hard towards will come full circle.

Make 2018 a year of finding, of fulfillment, of joy, peace, and purpose.

"Never let a stumble in the road be the end of the journey."

love, Jess

bottom of page